Youth

GOYA Basketball

Celebrating a winning tradition of sportsmanship and camaraderie, the cathedral’s basketball program is open to all students of the Sunday school program. With practices once a week and nearly 6 tournaments open to participation annually, the basketball program offers children the opportunity to develop their athletic skills in a fun team environment. Open to children ages 12-18. All skill levels are welcome.

2017-2018 Tournaments

September 10, 2017: 1st day of Sunday School

September 17, 2017:  Welcome Back Picnic

September 30, 2017: St. Nicholas (Baltimore, MD)

October 28-29, 2017: Saint Sophia Cathedral (Washington, DC)

November 4-5, 2017: St. Katherine’s (Falls Church, MD)

November 18-19, 2017: Annunciation (Baltimore, MD)  

December 2-3 , 2017: St. George (Bethesda, MD)

December 9-10, 2017: Overnight Christmas Retreat

April28-29, 2018: Saint Demetrios (Baltimore, MD)

May , 2017: GOYA Basketball End of Year Celebration TBA

 

 

Considerations

  • All Basketball tournaments have a dance on the Saturday evening of the tournament weekend. All GOYAN are welcome to attend the dances whether they play basketball or not.
  • All teenagers are welcome and encouraged to help run our basketball tournaments.

GOYA REGISTRATION FORMS

GOYA WELCOME LETTER & CALENDAR/SCHEDULE 

 

Our Coaches

Boy’s Head Coach: George Wallace (governorgw@gmail.com)
Boy’s Assistant Coach: Evan Gaginis (eganginis@yahoo.com)
Boy’s Assistant Coach: Alexander Planzos (aplanzos@verizon.net)

Girl’s Head Coach: Lia Psillos (lpsillos303@gmail.com)
Girl’s Coach: Maria George (Mgeorge430@gmail.com)
Girl’s Coach: Michael Polchert (mpolchert@gmail.com)

Youth Director

Father Dimitri, Sunday School Youth Director (frdimitri@saintsophiadc.com)

Advisors

Christina Sardelis: (c.sardelis@verizon.net)

Voula Tsoutsouras: (vktsoutsouras@verizon.net)

Practice

Walt Whitman High School, Mondays 7:30-9:00pm

Directions

  • From I-495 (the Capital Beltway), take exit 39 (River Road/MD-190).
  • Bear right at the end of the ramp to merge onto River Road/MD-190 East to Washington.
  • Make a left onto Whittier Boulevard (the 5th traffic light).
  • Whitman is a 1/4 mile on the left.

Registering for the Basketball Team

To register for the Cathedral’s basketball team, all children must be registered in the Sunday School program first. Please see the Sunday School program for more details. To sign up for the basketball team, please complete basketball registration forms.